Logo


Cross-cultural Team Building and Team Development

Multicultural Teams
The Team-Building Process
Example: Transfer of Know-How
Focus: Consulting - Concepts - Implementation

Cross-cultural Team Building
Multicultural Teams

Multicultural teams are cause for hope as well as frustration, ranging from expectations based on synergies to the uncertainty regarding future intercultural irritation. Both are justified expectations. In order to effectively utilise the potentials of synergies and minimise the possibility of intercultural problems it is essential to professionally prepare the partners for the joint cooperation.



The Team Building and Team Development Process

The core objective of team building as well as of team development is to define and agree behavioural, working and cooperation techniques that both sides accept. It is presumed that an effective, intercultural cooperation can only be established if there is a far-reaching mutual understanding for the partner's working and living environment.


- Team Building -
To prepare and initially support the cooperation China Consultancy offers several steps:


Clarifying aims and framework
Formally bringing the partners together | first meeting

Preparatory measures culture 1
Preparatory measures culture 2
Joint workshop | informal exchange

Start of the partnership
Supporting the process


Initially preparing participants from the different cultures separately serves to create a 'safe environment' where 'sensitive issues' can also be freely addressed. This training includes discussing expectations and if necessary correcting images of one's own and the other's culture.

The focus of the ensuing joint team workshop ("team coaching") is on the detailed exploration of similarities and differences within the respective group of participants in a cultural as well as in an individual respect.

The aim is to forge the participating national groups into a well functioning team in which the assumed lines of differentiation and identification now go beyond country- and culture-specific aspects.


- Team Development -
With regards to their approach and methodology team development and team building are related in character. The difference between the two lies with an already existing amount of mutual cooperation experience in the case of team development.

Already existing experience with each other may be advantageous or disadvantageous for the cooperation; but it is certain that this experience has to be taken into account during team development (towards, e.g., more implementing power, coordination, mutual understanding, efficiency) when you strive for a sustainable improvement of the cooperation at hand.
(see: Open Change Forums) .

In both cases, team building and team development, coming together in a joint workshop promotes formal and informal exchange, lessens uncertainties with regard to the partner and establishes the foundation for the future partnership. Both sides have the chance to convey to their partners their perceptions, modes of thinking and acting. Hereby their counterparts will more easily be able to familiarize themselves with and understand their partners' attitudes and behaviour.


Example: Transfer of Know-How

Besides the areas of intercultural differences already presented (see: Cross-cultural Training / Contents) , the following points in connection with, for example, know-how being transferred cross-culturally, gain particular importance:

  • Different perception, thinking and behavioural patterns
  • Different communication strategies
  • Different attitudes towards feedback and criticism
  • Different customs regarding structuring of information
  • Different kinds of conflict management
  • Different methods and habits of learning and teaching
  • Different moderation and presentation techniques
  • Different management behaviour, delegation etc.
  • Different expectations
  • Different ways of identifying with the partner in the cooperation.

If a company disregards these or other essential intercultural factors it is very difficult to achieve sweeping success - no matter how good a training programme is that has been designed solely from a mono-cultural viewpoint. The differences in teaching and learning habits are too great and professional and social interaction within the company is too unfamiliar for the expected learning success to be achieved.


Focus

China Consultancy takes these aspects into account. Focus is on giving advice to partners of existing cooperations as well as on the conception and implementation of cooperation-enhancing measures such as team building and team development workshops (see: Open Change Forums) .

          
    • Consulting on existing cooperations
    •     
    • Concepts and implementation of
      team-building programmes
    •     
    • Concepts and implementation of
      team developing programmes

© Copyright by China Consultancy 2000-18

Logo


Interkulturelle Team-Bildung u. Team-Entwicklung

Multikulturelle Teams
Team-Bildungs-Prozess
Beispiel: Know How-Transfer
Schwerpunkte: Beratung - Konzeption - Durchführung

Interkulturelle Team-Bildung
Multikulturelle Teams

Multikulturelle Teams sind Träger von Hoffnungen und Frustrationen. Sie bewegen sich im Spannungsfeld der Erwartung von Synergien und der Unsicherheit ob zukünftiger interkultureller Irritationen. Beides sind berechtigte Erwartungen. Um synergetische Potenziale effektiv nutzen zu können und mögliche interkulturelle Problematiken zu minimieren, ist eine professionelle Vorbereitung der Partner auf die gemeinsame Kooperation unabdingbar.



Team-Bildungs und Team-Entwicklungs Prozesse

Im Kern besteht das Ziel von Team-Bildung bzw. Team-Entwicklung im Auffinden und Vereinbaren von auf beiden Seiten akzeptierten Umgangs-, Arbeits- und Kooperationsweisen. Es wird davon ausgegangen, dass effektive kulturübergreifende Kooperation nur auf umfassendem gegenseitigem Verständnis für die Arbeits- und Lebenssituation des Partners aufbauen kann.


- Team-Bildung -
Die Kooperationsvorbereitung und initiale Kooperationsbegleitung der China Consultancy verläuft in verschiedenen Stufen:

Zielklärung und Planung
Formelle Zusammenführung | Erstes Kennenlernen

Vorbereitung Kultur 1
Vorbereitung Kultur 2
Gemeinsamer Workshop | Informeller Austausch

Zusammenarbeitsbeginn
Prozessbegleitung


Die zunächst nach kulturellem Hintergrund getrennte Vorbereitung dient der Schaffung von "geschützten Räumen", in der auch "heikle Themen" offen angesprochen werden können. Im Verlauf werden u.a. Erwartungshaltungen hinterfragt und ggf. Korrekturen von Selbst- und Fremdbildern vorgenommen.

Im Rahmen des sich anschliessenden gemeinsamen Teambildungs-Workshops wird dann die konkrete gemeinschaftliche Exploration von Gemeinsamkeiten und Unterschieden sowohl in kultureller als auch persönlich-individueller Hinsicht im Vordergrund stehen.

Das Ziel ist es, die beteiligten nationalen Gruppen zu einem gut funktionierendem Team zu formen, in dem die gedachten Lininen der Unterscheidung und Identifikation über den länderspezifisch-kulturellen Aspekt hinausgehen.



- Team-Entwicklung -
Team-Entwicklung ist der Team-Bildung in ihrer Herangehensweise und Arbeitsmethodik ("Team Coaching") wesensverwandt. Der Unterschied zwischen beidem liegt bei der Team-Entwicklung in einem bereits bestehendem Fundus von gegenseitiger Kooperations- erfahrung.

Bereits vorhandene Erfahrungen miteinander mögen sich günstig oder ungünstig auf die Zusammenarbeit auswirken; sicher ist, daß diese in der Weiterentwicklung eines Teams (zum Beispiel in Richtung auf mehr Schlagkraft, Koordination, gegenseitiges Verständnis, Effizienz) miteinzubeziehen sind, so man eine nachhaltige Verbesserung der Kooperation anstrebt
(siehe: Open Change Forums) .

In beiden Fällen, bei Team-Bildung und Team-Entwicklung, fördert die Zusammenführung im gemeinsamen Workshop den formellen und informellen Austausch, baut Unsicherheiten in bezug auf den Partner ab und kreiert die Grundlage für die zukünftige Zusammenarbeit. Beide Seiten haben die Chance, dem Partner ihre Wahrnehmungen, ihr Denken und Handeln transparent zu machen und sich mit dessen Verhalten auseinanderzusetzen.


Beispiel: Know How-Transfer

Neben den bereits dargestellten Feldern interkultureller Differenzen (siehe: Interkulturelles Training / Inhalte) erlangen folgende Punkte im Zusammenhang mit, zum Beispiel, interkulturellem Know How-Transfer eine besondere Bedeutung:

  • Unterschiedliche Wahrnehmungs-, Denk- und Verhaltensmuster
  • Unterschiedliche Kommunikationsstrategien
  • Unterschiedliche Auffassungen zu Feedback und Kritik
  • Unterschiedliche Gewohnheiten der Informationsstrukturierung
  • Unterschiedliche Arten des Konfliktmanagements
  • Unterschiedliche Lehrmethoden, Lehr- und Lerngewohnheiten
  • Unterschiedliche Moderations- und Präsentationstechniken
  • Unterschiedliches Führungsverhalten, Delegation etc.
  • Unterschiedliche Erwartungshaltungen
  • Unterschiedliche Identifikation mit dem Kooperationspartner

Lässt ein Unternehmen diese und andere gewichtige interkulturelle Faktoren außer acht, so wird sich ein durchschlagender Erfolg   -   wie gut auch immer eine Schulungs- oder Weiterbildungsmaßnahme aus monokultureller  Sicht konzipiert war   -   nur schwer erreichen lassen. Zu weitreichend sind Unterschiede in Lehr- und Lerngewohnheiten, zu ungewohnt sind die professionellen und sozialen Interaktionsformen im Betrieb, als dass sich Lernerfolge in der erwarteten Art realisieren ließen.


Schwerpunkte

Die China Consultancy trägt diesen Umständen Rechnung. Arbeitsschwerpunkte liegen in der Beratung von Partnern bereits bestehender Kooperationen sowie in der Konzeption und Durch- führung von kooperationsverbessernden Maßnahmen wie Team-Bildungs- und Team-Entwicklungs-Workshops (siehe: Open Change Forums) .

          
    • Beratung von bestehenden Kooperationen
    •     
    • Konzeption und Durchführung von
      Team-Bildungs-Maßnahmen
    •     
    • Konzeption und Durchführung von
      Team-Entwicklungs-Maßnahmen

© Copyright by China Consultancy 2000-18